IEC commissioner: Process begins to fill vacancy

Johannesburg – Twelve people have been shortlisted for the position of Independent Electoral Commissioner.

The current commissioner Glen Mashinini’s term comes to an end on April 16.

An interview panel consisting of the acting Chief Justice, Public Protector, chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality and the SA Human Rights Commission have set a 22 March deadline for public comment on the list.

Among the shortlisted candidates are Justice Bekebeke, Nalini Maharaj, Gladwyn White and Sithembile Mbethe.

After the interviews have been conducted, a list of eight candidates will be recommended to the Portfolio Committee on Home Affairs for consideration.

The final decision will be left to President Cyril Ramaphosa.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.