Marnus Labuschagne to miss Australia’s tour of the West Indies

Australia welcomed back their star players and picked four spinners in an extended 23-man squad named on Monday for a white-ball tour of the West Indies in July.

Aaron Finch will play the role of captain and will feature the return of Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, David Warner and Pat Cummins, who all missed the recent trip to New Zealand.

The whirlwind tour will begin with the first of five Twenty20 internationals in St Lucia on July 9 and ends with the third of three one-day international in Barbados on July 24 as the teams prepare for the T20 World Cup in India later this year.

Labuschagne however will miss out, due “logistical complexities” of joining the squad from the UK, which would require him to undergo two weeks of quarantine.

“Had we not been in the middle of a global pandemic Marnus would be on this tour as a well-established member and important part of the one-day side,” said selector Trevor Hohns.

“It’s an unfortunate circumstance of the many challenges the world is facing right now.”

Australia squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.