Marx wins Big at SA Rugby Awards

CAPE TOWN- Malcolm Marx Springbok hooker was rewarded three awards following a fantastic season for the Boks, winning the big award of the night, SA Rugby Player of the Year.

The 23 year old from the Lions was also named Young Player of the Year, and Super Rugby Player of the Year for 2017.

SA Rugby president, Mark Alexander said, “This is a magnificent achievement for Malcolm and on behalf of the entire South African rugby fraternity, I would like to congratulate him on a superb season,”

“Malcolm was a rock for both the Springboks and the Lions and at only 23 I’m sure he will still go on to accomplish big things in our game.”

Here is a list of all the winners:

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Malcolm Marx

Other nominees: Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Jan Serfontein

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Malcolm Marx

Other nominees: Curwin Bosch, Jean-Luc du Preez, Warrick Gelant, Damian Willemse

Team of the Year: Springbok Sevens

Other nominees: Lions, Western Province

Coach of the Year: Neil Powell

Other nominees: Johan Ackermann, John Dobson

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Rosko Specman

Other nominees: Chris Dry, Werner Kok

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Juarno Augustus

Other nominees: Curwin Bosch, Damian Willemse

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament: Malcolm Marx (Lions)

Other nominees: Jaco Kriel, Franco Mostert (both Lions)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls)

Other nominees: Nizaam Carr, Robert du Preez (both Western Province)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Jaun Kotze (Griffons)

Other nominees: Tertius Maarman (Griffons), Jeandré Rudolph (Leopards)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year: Craig Barry (Western Province)

Other nominees: Enver Brandt (Griquas), Shaun Reynolds (Golden Lions XV)

Craven Week Player of the Tournament: Sanele Nohamba (KwaZulu-Natal)

Referee of the Year: Jaco Peyper

Women’s Achiever of the Year: Babalwa Latsha (Western Province)

The list was sourced from Sport24

Photo Credit- iOL



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


three × three =