Siya Kolisi named as new Springbok captain

JOHANNESBURG-  Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has announced that Siya Kolisi will captain the Springboks when they host England in South Africa next month.

Kolisi‚has captaincy experience after he captained the Stormers in Super Rugby‚ will be the first black Springbok skipper.

Erasmus said on Monday he was confident in Kolisi leadership qualities, having known him since he was a youngster.

Pieter-Steph du Toit will captain the side against Wales in Washington on June 2.

The announcement means that both men will captain the Springboks for the first time.

Springbok squad to face Wales 
Forwards: Nizaam Carr (Stormers), Dan du Preez (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (capt, Stormers), Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Jason Jenkins (Bulls), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Wilco Louw (Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Oupa Mohojé (Cheetahs), Ox Nche (Cheetahs) Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers), Marvin Orie (Lions), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Sharks 23), Kwagga Smith (Lions), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks)

Backs: Curwin Bosch (Sharks), André Esterhuizen (Sharks), Warrick Gelant (Bulls), Travis Ismaiel (Bulls), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Embrose Papier (Bulls), Ivan van Zyl (Bulls), Cameron Wright (Sharks)

Photo Credit- TimesLIVE

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


1 × 3 =