WATCH: Rare air swing as Aussie golfer’s driver snaps

GOLD COAST – Golfer John Sendon’s driver snapped on his downswing and he missed the ball in a freak air shot that created controversy at theĀ  Australian PGA Championships on the Gold Coast Thursday.

With no other driver in his bag, Sendon had to use an iron with the air swing counting as a shot, which stunned many fans.

“For it to count as a strike doesn’t there have to be an intent?” asked one Twitter user.

“Couldn’t he argue that there was no intention to strike the ball once the grip broke in his backswing?”

Golf Australia tweeted a response; “This was the discussion just had between John and a rules official on the 11th tee… the incident will be reviewed following the round.”


Video credit- YouTube

Photo credit- eNCA

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


nineteen − one =